Medal of Gratitude

The Medal of Gratitude is awarded to honour foreigners who supported Poland in its fight for freedom and democracy, without whom the victory of Solidarność in Europe would be much more difficult.

The ECS established this honorary award on the 30th anniversary of the birth of Solidarity. 678 persons from all over the world have received it so far. Some smuggled printing machines and radio transmitters for the underground Solidarity Trade Union, others organised shipments of food and medication, others still took care of the families of interned oppositionists or demonstrated to defend Poland’s violated civil rights.

The people of Poland would like to thank all those whose support has helped us to regain our freedom.

The chairman of the chapter of the Medal of Gratitude is former president of Poland Lech Wałesa, historical leader of Solidarność, the Nobel Peace Prize laureate.

Everyone can nominate the candidate to the award. Please find below the application form.


The completed application form should be send to:

List of the Medal of Gratitude laureates from 2010-2014
full list of the laureates